Canada's Women's Rugby Team: The World Rugby Pacific Four Series


July 8, 2023 - July 14, 2023


The Stadium at TD Place

More Info

World Rugby Pacific Four Series coming to TD Place

Saturday, July 8:
✓ 4:00 PM - USA vs Australia
✓ 7:00 PM - Canada vs New Zealand

Friday, July 14
✓ 4:00 PM - USA vs New Zealand
✓ 7:00 PM - Canada vs Australia

The City of Ottawa and TD Place will host Canada, New Zealand, Australia and the USA this July in the 2023 Pacific Four Series, in partnership with Mastercard, a cross-regional international women’s rugby tournament.

This will be the first major international women’s rugby series hosted in Canada in eight years, the last instance being the 2015 Women’s Rugby Super Series, which featured Canada, New Zealand, the USA and England.

On Saturday, July 8, Canada will face the reigning, six-time World Champion New Zealand Black Ferns. Friday, July 14 will see Canada face Australia. The USA will also play New Zealand and Australia.

Canada’s Women’s Rugby Team, currently ranked fourth in the world following a fourth-place performance at the 2021 Rugby World Cup (which was played in fall 2022), played the USA in the first match of the Pacific Four Series on April 1, winning 50-17. Qualification for the inaugural WXV, a new three-tier annual global women’s international 15s competition, is on the line. In partnership with Mastercard, the 2023 Pacific Four Series competition will see the top three teams qualify for the top WXV tier, with the bottom team headed for tier 2. Canada’s Women’s Rugby Team have their hopes set on an historic finish at the 2025 Rugby World Cup, and this tournament marks a significant first step on their road to becoming the next World Cup champions.